You are here

Staff Accolades

Friday, February 13, 2015

Ernie Rushing was awarded a PhD degree in Conflict Analysis & Resolution with a concentration on conflict in organizations and schools from Nova Southeastern University in December 2014.

Friday, January 16, 2015

Robbin Thomas, director of research administration, completed a training program for women faculty and senior administrative staff in academic leadership called BRIDGES – Academic Leadership for Women. BRIDGES is an intensive professional development program for women in higher education. Participants learn about leadership from experts and each other. The faculty for BRIDGES is drawn from area institutions and consulting partners. This year’s class consists of 36 women.

Monday, January 5, 2015

Revonda Huppert, PhD program coordinator, has been nominated by Dr. Debra Brandon for the 2014 Susan B. Clark Administrative Leadership Award. In 2007 in memory of Susan Clark and her important contributions to Duke Medicine, Chancellor Victor J. Dzau created the Susan B. Clark Administrative Leadership Award. Given annually, this award honors a Duke Medicine administrative support professional who demonstrates the qualities exemplified by Susan Clark during her remarkable career at Duke — dedication to the institution, service to others and personal strength of character.

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Suzy Berndt recently qualified as a Certified Clinical Research Professional by the Society of Clinical Research Associates (SOCRA).

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Marilyn Oermann, Margie Molloy and Jackie Vaughn published an editorial in Nurse Education Today about deliberate practice in nursing education.

Oermann, M.H., Molloy, M., & Vaughn, J. (2014). Use of deliberate practice in teaching in nursing. Nurse Education Today. 2014 Nov 27. doi: 10.1016/j.nedt.2014.11.007. [Epub ahead of print]

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Nancy Hassell was a coauthor on a paper entitled " Reporting: Strategies for Success at an Academic Health Center" that was recently published in Clinical and Translational Science. 

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Margie Molloy and Jackie Vaughn have passed the certification exam for the Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator (CHSE) program and are now both Certified Healthcare Simulation Educators. The CHSE certification adds value to DUSON by improving healthcare simulation education through the identification of best practices. Recognition in this area strengthens patient safety efforts through support of simulation modalities and encourages performance improvement and knowledge expansion of the individual educator.

Monday, October 27, 2014

PhD student Nancy Dias and postdoctoral associate Jinhee Park are among the 25 nurse researchers nationwide to receive a total of more than $240,000 in research grants from the American Nurses Foundation's 2014 Nursing Research Grants (NRG) Program. The title of Dias' proposal was "Trajectories of Parental Bereavement Challenges and their Health Risks: A Case-based Mixed Methods Study," and it has been funded by Hildegard E. Peplau Scholar and the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Foundation.

Friday, October 10, 2014

Libby Joyce presented “2 ∞ & →” (To Infinite and Beyond) at the Southern Association for Institutional Research Conference held in Destin, Fla., October 4-7, 2014. The presentation included Kendrick Tatum from Duke University’s Office of Institutional Research and described the use of Tableau data visualization software across Duke’s campus and specifically within DUSON.

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Congratulations to the recipients of the "2014-15 Commitment to Excellence" staff recognition award. This program celebrates staff who demonstrate the highest standards in their commitment to supporting our mission, vision and values. We thank those who consistently demonstrate excellence in what they do for our School community and encourage all faculty and staff to learn more about the program and how to nominate an outstanding staff member.