You are here

Ceremony Honors 136 New Graduates, Clinical Excellence

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Posing with her grandfather is Kristi Lee Hendricks, a graduate of the ABSN program and the student speaker at the ceremony.

Duke University School of Nursing graduates gathered with friends, family, and members of the community at the Reynolds Theater in the Bryan Center on Saturday, December 8, 2012, for the Duke University School of Nursing Recognition Ceremony

This year sixty-eight Master of Science in Nursing, one PhD in Nursing, and three Doctor of Nursing Practice students completed graduation requirements, joining sixty-four new Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing (ABSN) graduates to celebrate a milestone in their professional careers.

Dr. Michael Relf, associate professor and assistant dean for undergraduate education, presided over the event. Dean Catherine Gilliss delivered greetings. Kristi Lee Hendricks, a graduate of the ABSN program, was the student speaker. (Read her speech here.)

Professor Terry Valiga, director of the Institute for Educational Excellence, presented the Ruby L. Wilson Award for Clinical Excellence to ABSN graduate Jacob Schonau-Taylor. Dr. Relf with Assistant Professor Dr. Kathleen Turner, faculty chair of the ABSN program committee, and Nursing Alumni Council President Dr. Joan Stanley, BSN’71, presided over the ABSN Student Pinning. Dr. Michael Zychowicz, director of the MSN program, with Assistant Professor Lambe and Dr. Stanley, presided over the Masters Recognition. Dr. Stanley gave remarks, and Dr. Relf delivered closing remarks.