You are here


Ten undergraduates who are pursuing degrees in disciplines other than nursing at educational institutions across the country arrived at Duke University School of Nursing (DUSON) for a six-week in-residence experience as Making a Difference in Nursing II (MADIN II) Scholars. MADIN II is a federally-funded nursing workforce diversity program committed to increasing the number of underrepresented minorities in nursing.

Faculty and staff from Duke University School of Nursing (DUSON) helped create successful virtual poster sessions that won a 2011 Campus Technology Innovators Award.

In the seventh annual Campus Technology Innovators Award competition, ten winners were selected in six categories, out of 393 nominations submitted from higher education institutions around the globe. DUSON’s entry, called Immersive Virtual Poster Sessions, received the award in the Education Futurists category.

Duke University School of Nursing (DUSON) held its 2011 Hooding and Recognition Ceremony on Sunday, May 15, honoring its recent graduates. One hundred sixty-three students participated in the ceremony, representing the School’s Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Master of Science in Nursing, Doctor of Nursing Practice, and PhD degree programs.

At the Duke University School of Nursing annual awards ceremony on May 11, 2011, two of the School’s doctoral students were honored for their exemplary work.

Duke University School of Nursing honored two students in its master of science in nursing degree program for their service and scholarship at the School’s awards ceremony on May 11, 2011.

On May 11, 2011, Duke University School of Nursing held an awards ceremony where three faculty members were honored for their accomplishments.

Duke University School of Nursing students produced two of the three winning videos from this year’s “Get the Picture” Patient Education Video Competition organized by iNet (Innovative Nursing Education Technologies). A panel of judges from Western Carolina University selected the winning videos, and each team received a $1,000 award.

Barbara S. Turner, DNSc, RN, FAAN, Duke University School of Nursing Professor and Chair of the School’s Doctor of Nursing Practice Program, has been named by the Duke University Board of Trustees as the Elizabeth P. Hanes Professor of Nursing, effective July 1, 2011. Designation as a distinguished professor is the highest honor that Duke University awards to its faculty members.

Susan Denman, PhD, RN, FNP-BC, an associate professor at Duke University School of Nursing (DUSON), has been awarded a Fulbright grant that will allow her to help integrate evidence-based nursing principles into education and practice at the Universidad de Las Americas (UDLA) School of Nursing in Quito, Ecuador.

Margaret (Midge) T. Bowers, MSN, RN, FNP-BC, assistant professor, co-coordinator of the family nurse practitioner instructional area, and lead faculty of the adult nurse practitioner-cardiovascular specialty at Duke University School of Nursing (DUSON), has been selected for advancement to Associate of the American College of Cardiology (A.A.C.C.) status.