Ceremonies Honor 104 New Graduates, Faculty and Student Excellence

Duke University School of Nursing graduates gathered with friends, family, and members of the community at the Reynolds Theater in the Bryan Center on Saturday, December 10, 2011, for the Duke University School of Nursing Recognition Ceremony.

This year twenty-eight Master of Science in Nursing, fourteen Post-master's Certificate, and one Doctor of Nursing Practice students completed graduation requirements, joining sixty-one new Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing (ABSN) graduates to celebrate a milestone in their professional careers.

Dr. Michael Relf, assistant dean for undergraduate education, presided over the event. Dean Catherine Gilliss delivered greetings. Robb Holton, a graduate of the family nurse practitioner specialty in the master’s program, was the student speaker.

Dr. Relf with Kirsten Corazzini, faculty chair of the ABSN program committee, and Nursing Alumni Council President Kathleen Gallagher, BSN’75, presided over the ABSN Student Pinning. Assistant professors Margaret “Midge” Bowers and George “Trey” Turner with Gallagher presided over the Masters and Post-master’s Recognition. Dr. Relf delivered closing remarks.

The ABSN Recognition Reception was held Thursday, December 8, 2011, in the Christine Pearson Building Atrium. Dr. Michael Relf, assistant dean for undergraduate education, delivered welcoming remarks and introductions. Hannah Dodson gave the student address. Assistant Professor Allison Vorderstrasse presided over the recognition of seven peer tutors. Assistant Professor Terry Ward presided over the recognition of twenty-four peer advisors.

Kirsten Corazzini, faculty chair of the ABSN program committee, presided over the recognition of class representatives Sara Doering and Brian Lupo. Doering presented the Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award to Assistant Professor Anne Derouin. Lupo presented the Outstanding Clinical Instructor Award to Margie Molloy, coordinator for the Center for Nursing Discovery, and Ann Riddle, clinical instructor. Professor Terry Valiga, director of the Institute for Educational Excellence, presented the Ruby L. Wilson Award for Clinical Excellence to Ginille Lazaro.

About DUSONDuke University School of Nursing (DUSON), as a diverse community of scholars and clinicians, educates the next generation of transformational leaders in nursing, advances nursing science in issues of global import, and fosters the scholarly practice of nursing. In 2011, US News and World Report ranked Duke among the top seven graduate schools of nursing in the nation. The School offers masters, PhD, and doctor of nursing practice degrees, as well as an accelerated bachelor of science in nursing degree to students who have previously completed an undergraduate degree. More than 750 individuals enrolled for Fall 2011 classes, the largest number of students in the School’s 80-year history.

Involved Faculty: 
Scroll back to top automatically