## **Duke University Restricted Regions List** *As of June 15, 2016*

C4 NI	As of June 13, 2010
Country Name	Areas Restricted and Sanctions
Afghanistan	Entire country restricted
Algeria	Travel to Algiers allowed, remainder of the country restricted
Angola	Cabinda, North Lunda and South Lunda restricted
Armenia	Nagorno-Karabaskh area restricted
Azerbaijan	Nagorno-Karabaskh area restricted
Bangladesh	Entire country restricted
Belarus*	No restrictions however sanctions apply. See above.
Burkina Faso	Oudalan, Soum and Loroum Provinces as well as border with Mali restricted
Burundi	Entire country restricted
Cameroon, Rep. of	Bakassi Peninsula, extreme northern areas of the country and border with Central African Republic restricted
<b>Central African</b>	Entire country restricted
Republic	
Chad	Entire country restricted
Colombia	Bogota, Medellin and Cartegena approved for travel; remainder of the country restricted
Congo, Republic of (Brazzaville)	Pool Region and Likouala Province restricted
Cuba*	No restrictions however sanctions apply. Travelers must carry copy of Duke license. See above.
Democratic	Northeastern border areas with Uganda, Burundi and Rwanda restricted; Sanctions
Republic of	apply. See above.
Congo*	
Djibouti	Borders with Eritrea and Somalia restricted
Ecuador	Amazon border area and border area with Peru and Colombia restricted
Egypt	Entire country restricted
El Salvador	Entire country restricted
Eritrea	Asmara approved for travel; remainder of the country restricted
Ethiopia	Border areas restricted
Georgia	South Ossetia, Abkahzia and the Pankisi Gorge beyond Akhmeta restricted
Guatemala	Guatemala City approved for transit only; border areas with Mexico and Belize restricted
Guinea	Border areas with Sierra Leone, Liberia and Ivory Coast restricted
Guinea-Bissau	Entire country restricted
Haiti	Port-au-Prince approved for transit only
Honduras	Tegucigalpa approved for transit only; San Pedro Sula restricted
India	Asom (Assam), Jammu, Kashmir, Manipur, Nagaland, Tripura, Bihar, Jharkhand,
	Chattisgarh, border districts of Orissa, northern areas of Andhra, Pradesh, western
	districts of West Bengal, and eastern districts of Maharashtra restricted
Indonesia	Provinces of Maluku and North Maluku, Papua and West Papua (formerly known as
	Irian Jaya) restricted
Iran*	Entire country restricted and sanctions apply. See above.
Iraq*	Entire country restricted and sanctions apply. See above.
Israel	See Palestinian Territories
Ivory Coast*	Dix-Huit Montagnes, Haut-Sassandra, Moyen-Cavally and Bas-Sassandra restricted
	and sanctions apply to entire country. See above.
Kenya	Mombasa, border areas with Somalia, Sudan, Ethiopia and northwest border area with Uganda are all restricted.
Kyrgystan	Batken province, international border regions of Osh and Jalal-Abad province
J - 8J	= pro

## **Duke University Restricted Regions List** *As of June 15, 2016*

	As 0f June 15, 2010
	restricted
Lebanon	Northern borders with Syria (North Beka'a Provinces) restricted
Liberia*	No restrictions however sanctions apply. See above.
Libya*	Entire country restricted and sanctions apply. See above.
Madagascar	Batterie Beach, north of Tulear (Toliara) restricted
Mali	Entire country restricted
Mauritania	Border areas with Algeria and Mali and eastern desert area (Provinces of Tiris Zemmour, Adrar, Tagant, Hodh el Chargui, Dakhlet-Nouadhibou and Inchiri) restricted
Mexico	Border with the United States, Sinaloa, Guerrero, Chihuahua, Coahuila, Nuevo Leon, Tamaulipas, Durango, Jalisco, Morelos, Michoacan and Mexico States restricted
Myanmar*	Border areas restricted and sanctions apply. See above.
Nepal	Terai region restricted
Niger	Agadez province, border areas with Mali and Nigeria restricted
Nigeria	Entire country restricted
North Korea*	Entire country restricted and sanctions apply. See above.
Pakistan	Entire country restricted
Palestinian	West Bank and Gaza Strip restricted with the exception of Bethlehem, Jericho and
Territories	Ramallah which are approved for travel
Panama	Darien Province restricted
Papua New Guinea	Provinces of Southern Highlands and Enga restricted
	Border areas with Colombia
Peru Philippines	
Russia	Mindanao, Sulu Archipelago and Zamboanga Peninsula restricted  Border area with Ukraine; Chechnya, North Caucasus region including North and
Russia	South Ossetia, Ingushetia, Degastan, Stavropol, Karachayevo-Cherkessiya and Kabardino-Balkariya restricted
Rwanda	Border areas with Burundi and Democratic Republic of the Congo restricted
Saudi Arabia	Border area with Yemen restricted
Somalia*	Entire country restricted and sanctions apply. See above.
Sri Lanka	Northern province outside Jaffna and Eastern province restricted
Sudan, North*	Khartoum approved for travel; remainder of the country restricted and sanctions apply. See above
Sudan, Rep of the South	Entire country restricted
Syria*	Entire country restricted and sanctions apply. See above
Tajikistan	Dushanbe and surrounding areas approved for travel; remainder of the country restricted
Thailand	Pattani, Yala, Narathiwat and Songkhla restricted
Turkey	Border areas with Iraq, Iran and Syria restricted
Uganda	Karamoja region, northern rural areas, border areas with Democratic Republic of the Congo and Sudan restricted
Ukraine	Provinces of Donetsk and Luthansk restricted
Uzbekistan	Kyrgyz and Afghan borders and the Fergana valley regions restricted
Venezuela	Entire country restricted
West Bank and Gaza	See Palestinian Territories
Yemen*	Entire country restricted and sanctions apply. See above.
Zimbabwe*	No restrictions however sanctions apply. See above.
ZIIIIVUVVC	110 Testiletions nowever sunctions apply. See above.