Hendrix Receives UAB Alumni Award for Innovation

awardOn October 17, Cristina Hendrix, associate professor, received the 2019 Marie L. O'Koren Alumni Award for Innovation from the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing. 

The Marie L. O’Koren Alumni Award for Innovation is named for the UAB School of Nursing’s second dean, Marie L. O’Koren, who passed away in 2012. During her tenure as dean, O’Koren changed the landscape of nursing education in the state of Alabama. She led the UAB School of Nursing to become one of the top 20 nursing schools in the country and established a diversified master’s program and the first doctorate in nursing program in the Southeast. The award recognizes alumni who, like O’Koren, have made innovative contributions to the field of nursing.

Involved Faculty
Scroll back to top automatically